Creatures, Crimes, and Creativity (C3) Conference 2013

Back from my first writer’s conference (EVER!) and had a complete and thorough BLAST!  Before I say anything else, if you’ve never been to a conference before SIGN. UP. FOR. ONE. NOW!

(Actually, registration for C3 2014 is available now)

My enthusiasm should be reaching through your computer screen and getting in your face and shouting, “DO IT!  DO IT!” If not, go back to the beginning and read it over again.

So now that you can fathom my sheer elation for everything I gained at this conference, let’s talk about a few of the MANY things I learned.

Go even if you’re shy!

While those of you who have met me via Twitter or Wattpad may find it hard to believe, I’m actually a fairly shy guy.  I stutter whenever I get nervous or excited (it happens a lot and it’s very annoying).  I gave my pitch for Communion a couple of times and it sounded horrible!  “T-the v-vampires are ext-t-tinct…” But everyone I talked to was really cool about it and listened and even seemed impressed by the story.

Bring cards

A conference is a networking event and, like any networking event, you need a convenient way to exchange information.  Some writers will make a lasting impression on you (and vice versa), but it still may be hard to remember their name on Monday when you return to the 9-to-5.

Make sure to budget for buying books

Actually, I did this one.  I originally set aside $50 to purchase books that appealed to me or books of authors whose panels I attended or of those I happened to chat with and liked.   I went over-budget at the conference and still didn’t buy ALL of the books I wanted.  But that’s ok because I collected business cards– which you’re gonna do, right?

The Conference Continues at the Bar

So I don’t know if you’ve ever had a drink with an 11-time NYT Bestseller or an author who’s written for both Marvel and DC, but I did.  Because I went to a conference! (See how this works?)  Every topic is on the table while at the bar.  Writing tips, what writers REALLY think of their publishers, and even life advice.

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’ll definitely be attending the Creatures, Crimes, and Creativity conference next year.  Actually, I was asked (read:  politely told) to be a panelist.  So, if you want to see me speak (read: stutter) my way through a session on first-time authors, SIGN UP!

About B. Patterson

Avid Reader. Relentless Writer. Lover of Wisdom. Author of Communion.

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

