I’m going to a Writer’s Conference!

I’ll be attending Creatures, Crimes, and Creativity in Baltimore, MD in September.

No, this isn’t to promote my debut novel Communion.  Maybe one day I’ll have that kind of following, but right now I’m simply going as an unpublished author and a fan, looking to network.

There are a bunch of panes I’m looking forward to.  Some are easy choices, such as

What makes a hero
Building a great series
Magic in “real life” and fiction

But, like all conferences, there’s always that hour that has TWO panels you want to attend at the same time.  I’m torn between ‘What to Expect from Publishers and Editors’ (has a lot of business implications) and ‘Handling Sex in Crime/Fantasy Fiction’ (let’s just say things get steamy in the Communion sequel).

Ordered 500 bookmarks.  Gotta get rid of all of them before August 1st

Ordered 500 bookmarks. Gotta get rid of all of them before October 1st

I’ll also be looking for booths ran by any authors who have self-published their books as ebooks only.  I’m interested in doing this at some point in the future, but it would be nice to get some ideas on how it’s done first.

I won’t purchase a table for myself, but I will be giving out Communion bookmarks to anyone I happen to talk to.

But, it’s the first conference I’ll be attending… EVER.  Any tips?

About B. Patterson

Avid Reader. Relentless Writer. Lover of Wisdom. Author of Communion.

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

