Administrative Announcement: Communion in Two Parts

For about a month now, I’ve been going back and forth on whether I want to release the full copy of my debut novel Communion in October or split it into two parts.  In the end, I’ve decided on two parts.

Several factors played into this decision:

1)  For the readers:  Communion is pretty long for a first novel.  The draft I sent to the editor is a little over 86K words.  Out of about 15 people I sent early drafts to for a beta-reading, only about half were able to get through it.  I’m worried people who I’ve never even met might find 86K slightly daunting for an unproven writer.  The first half will be about 45K.  I’m hoping will find this length a little more comfortable.

2) For the story:  While I feel strongly that the first half of Communion is ready to go, the second half needs a little more work.  There are certain minor details that need to be further refined.  Also, if I release Communion in two parts, I can beef up the second half by adding a few more scenes.

3)  For my writing career:  It’s recommended for an Independent Author to release a new book in six month increments at most.  I can release part 2 of Communion in April 2014.  And I’ve already begun planning out the novel for October 2014.

And, I’d much rather leave people with the feeling of “I want more” rather than “I’ve had enough.  Is this book over yet?”

In other news, Communion finally made its way to a professional editor earlier this week.  Her first read-through will be a beta-reading, so I’m looking forward to hearing what she says.

Also, I recently ordered a blog tour via Bewitching Book Tours.  I’ll be posting the banner (it looks AMAZING!) and other info in the next week or two.

So, that’s where my thoughts are.  Do you think this is a wise decision or am I setting myself up for failure?

About B. Patterson

Avid Reader. Relentless Writer. Lover of Wisdom. Author of Communion.

Posted on August 17, 2013, in Communion, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wise decision! You put a lot of thought into Communion, and the plan seems great. Since I’m not that into blood-suckers, I’m more interested in the Oct 2014 plan.But I still can’t wait for Communion to get out.

    BTW, (For your WP announcement) If you’re in KDP Select, I’m not sure if you’re allowed to post your KDP select story elsewhere, even in chapters. I suggest you look into that. 😀

  2. Haha, the Oct. 2014 release will likely be something Communion related 🙂 But thanks for even being interested.

    I think the rule with KDP Select is that you can only post >10% of the chapters elsewhere. Amazon probably releases that writers won’t to post sample chapters on certain websites in order to get attention. If for some reason this isn’t even allowed, I’ll still post the first 2 chapters to Wattpad in Sept. and then remove them once it’s published.

    Thanks for commenting.

  1. Pingback: Administrative Announcement: Reverse Course | This Is Our Circle

Leave a Reply

