Different Kinds of Vampire Storylines

With Communion in the hands of Beta-readers and my most recent project Sparkle ready to be published on Wattpad later this week, I’m not sure what I should write next.  Although, it will likely involve vampires.

To give a little bit of background about myself, I always told myself I would NEVER write a vampire story.  Then I worked on a story called Lamia’s Dream, which uses succubi.  My succubi drain a person’s emotional energy, kind of like a psychic vampire.  While on break from that story, I wrote Communion, which centers around creatures called dhampir.

Now I can’t get enough of the blood suckers and I’m thirsty for another vampire story.  To figure out where I should go with vampires next, it’d be helpful to know what’s been done with the night time terrors before.

Here are some common vampire storylines:

Romance:  A female (usually human) and a male (usually vampire).  In Lamia’s Dream, I tried to switch it up by having a human male and female succubus pairing.

Love slave:  This falls under romance, except the human (usually female) is a slave to the vampire.

Revenge:  Vampires killed the protagonist’s family.  Now the protag is gonna make those fang faces pay!

Vamp/Human Hybrid:  Protag is has a vampire parent and human parent.  Is often a vampire hunter.

Rebellion:  The vampires are the reigning authority and someone has the stop them.

Horror:  In the spirit of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, the humans have no special abilities but have to fight a supernatural foe.

Comedy/Parody:  Some vamps just wanna stay out of trouble, but trouble has a way of finding them!

Coming of age:  This one also isn’t vampire specific.  But a younger vampire “grows up” (so to speak) to become a more mature vampire.

Fledgling:  This is like the coming of age story.  But it usually focuses on the human who was first turned into a vampire and they’re struggle to adapt.  Communion would fall under this category.

This list isn’t meant to be all-inconclusive.  In fact, I might be missing some.  Can you think of any other examples of the vampire storylines?

About B. Patterson

Avid Reader. Relentless Writer. Lover of Wisdom. Author of Communion.

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Vampire, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t think of any other vampire-type stories, but I know exactly how you felt when you said you would NEVER write a vampire story, but still want to write one. I’m currently working on a story line for my own (not much progress there).

  2. I know how that goes. It took me months to come up with the story line for the vampire story I wrote, Communion. And some of what I wrote I came up with AFTER I starting because I had thought up better ideas along the way. But the fun thing about planning stories is you can jot down some ideas here and there while you’re working on a different project all together. Are you thinking of using an older, more traditional vampire or one in a young adult story?

Leave a Reply

