Brief Introduction

Not sure what everyone else uses for their first blog post, so I’ll take some time to introduce myself:

I’m 25.  I’m a graduate of North Carolina State University where I majored in Psychology and minored in Japanese.  I currently live in Southern Maryland.

I wrote a lot as a kid.  I began a new story (or 3 or 4) every school year but rarely completed them.  I finally finish one when I was 16.  It was about ninjas.  It was really bad.

Communion, my first completed novel worth self-publishing, will be released October 1st.  Writing it was a labor of love (sometimes more of a labor), but I’m eagerly looking forward to writing about Les and the other dhampir in the near future.

My values as a writer include:

Write High-Quality Books

Notice I didn’t phrase it as a “writing a good story.”  While this is paramount to having a good book, another aspect writers need to think about is the quality of the book.  A riveting story can easily be ruined by typos and poor editing.

Diversity

The Young Adult fiction is in desperate need of more stories from a male perspective.  Even more scarce are male protagonists of minority.  Communion and my other current project (which is still untitled) both center around African-American males in high school.  I use a cast from different racial and religious backgrounds, sexual orientation, and socio-economic status.

Integrity

What does this have to do with writing books?  The books that you write say a lot about you as a person.  I want my books to have a good message.  That doesn’t mean that I always use morally good characters or non-offensive content.  But even the worst of us have something to say that could benefit the rest.

Entertainment

If I didn’t have fun writing it, I doubt you’ll have fun reading it.

So that’s all for now.  I have a condensed version of this in the “About” section.  Let me know if there’s anything else you’d like to know or see added to that section.

About B. Patterson

Avid Reader. Relentless Writer. Lover of Wisdom. Author of Communion.

Posted on June 14, 2013, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great Introduction, Mr B. I Look forward to reading whatever it is you may bring to the blogosphere!

    Miss Lou

  2. ruminationsbymoonlight

    I completely agree that the YA section needs more male perspective. I look forward to hearing more about your work!

    • Yeah, I’ve read a lot of YA books with female protags. And I don’t mind it but after a while I found myself wanting to read about a character who deals with the same issues I deal with. Thanks for commenting.

  3. I love what you are saying here on your values as a writer… I tend to agree, especially with the Diversity and Integrity ^_^

Leave a Reply

